1st Day of 4th Grade

Dear Families,

For those of you that don’t know me, my name is Mr. Cheney.  I will be your child’s 4th grade teacher this year. This will be my 20th year at Malletts Bay School.  I look forward working with you and your family this year.

It was nice to get to know your children a little bit today.  Students were very well-behaved.  They were a little chatty at times, but quieted down immediately when I needed their full attention.  Today we worked on getting to know each other and the adults we’ll be working with throughout the year.   At the end of the day we played Rock, Paper, Scissors with all 4th grades in the Lighthouse (approximately 100 kids).  It was a lot of fun and no one got hurt, so I call that a win-win.  Take a moment tonight to ask your child about it and how the rest of their day went as well.

Your child was sent home with an orange folder today with all sorts of 1st day announcements from the school.  Please take out the papers that are in there and send back the folder tomorrow.  That folder will be returned to you on Fridays with stuff from the school or on a day when I’m told to “send this home to parents today”.

I hope every student came home happy today.  If not please let me know right away what I can do to make sure they go home happy tomorrow.

Lastly, if you know a parent that didn’t get an email to this blog, please have them email me at joseph.cheney@colchestersd.org.  Additionally, if you want me to add a spouses email or grandparents’ email, just send me the email address and they can get updates as well.

Thanks,
Mr. Cheney

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *